Memories

Colin Parker-Green

10403431_10153485821933849_362924019215944582_n

A lot of people don’t understand the companionship between humans and pets, and although I had a few pets as I was growing up, it wasn’t until we got a cat that I began to understand.

Having a animal that you know you will have for years makes them become much more part of the family. If you have kids they grow up with them, and you get used to them just being there in your company.

When me and Dan moved into our previous house 3 years ago, we decided that we would go and get a cat as we hadn’t had a proper family pet before that we could have for years. We went off to a Cat Rescue Sanctuary in Debenham to have a look for a cat.

When we got there, there were loads of cats to choose from and I felt bad for them all and could have taken then all home but we looked around and first of all we saw a lovely fluffy cat that was adorable, however it was very old and we wanted a younger cat so that we could enjoy them for a lot of years. We got to the end of the row of cages and came across a lovely cat. He was meowing at the top of his voice and franticly trying to rub himself up against the cage to get our attention and have a cuddle, the lady got him out and he was so friendly and lovely (and a little scabby) but I knew straight away that he was the cat we were going to have, and so armed with a carry cage, we set off back home with our newest family member.

As soon as we got home we let him out and he wandered around trying to get used to his surroundings. He truly was the most affectionate, laid back and friendly cat you will ever meet. He was such a lovely cat. Even after we introduced him to a new cat (Patsy) in May 2014 and when we had our son Noah in September 2014 he sat with him and allowed to be prodded and stroked by the new little person who had invaded his home.

We really loved that cat.

However, on 21st November 2014, We came home in the evening to let Colin and Patsy in from outside, but Colin did not come back in, Dan went outside as he saw Colin in the Garden out of the window, and then he said the horrible words ‘Colin’s Died’. It was horrible and devastating and i cried. a lot. So much, it was so sad, I literally loved that cat so much. I was known for going ‘Aww Colly’ at the top of my voice because he was that lovely, but now he was gone. 😦 It wasn’t expected and we don’t really know what happened which makes it much worse.

It was very upsetting and I felt sad for a long time, and I miss him terribly.

I miss him meowing when you cuddled him. I miss him sleeping on the end of our bed. I miss him tolerating me putting t shirts and Santa suits on him. I even miss him growling when we had meat to give him because he was such a fat cat.

Now its been a year since he has gone, and I still find it sad that we didn’t get to have all those years of him like we thought we would, and Noah didn’t get to grow up with him as his companion too.

This little poem made me cry a lot when it happened, but it helped all the same and really is lovely for anyone who has lost a dear animal companion.

I stood by your bed last night, I came to have a peep.
I could see that you were crying, You found it hard to sleep.

I meowed to you softly as you brushed away a tear,
“It’s me, I haven’t left you, I’m well, I’m fine, I’m here.”

I was close to you at breakfast, I watched you pour the tea,
You were thinking of the many times your hands reached out to me.

I was with you at the shops today, Your arms were getting sore.
I longed to take your parcels, I wish I could do more.

I was with you at my grave today, You tend it with such care.
I want to reassure you that I’m not lying there.

I walked with you towards the house, as you fumbled for your key.
I gently put my paw on you, I smiled and said “it’s me.”

You looked so very tired, and sank into a chair.
I tried so hard to let you know that I was standing there.

It’s possible for me to be so near you everyday.
To say to you with certainty, “I never went away.”

You sat there very quietly, then smiled, I think you knew …
In the stillness of that evening, I was very close to you.

The day is almost over… I smile and watch you yawning
and say “goodnight, God bless, I’ll see you in the morning.”

And when the time is right for you to cross the brief divide,
I’ll rush across to greet you and we’ll stand, side by side.

I have so many things to show you, there is so much for you to see.
Be patient, live your journey out … then come home to me.

img_5006

Sorry for the sad post, but I wanted to do something to remember him on this year anniversary.

R.I.P Colin

Untill next time

xoxo

Leave a Reply

