What i eat in a day

Its been a while since i posted about my weight loss journey, so i thought i would do a little update. As you might have seen from some of my previous posts, i am pregnant at the moment, so my main focus for a while hasn’t been to lose weight but to ensure  healthy diet and lifestyle. If i am totally honest, this hasn’t been that easy to keep on track sometimes. All the bad foods have been very tempting, but i have been much better at keeping on track than the last pregnancy, and i really wanted to make sure this time that i didn’t pile the weight on unnecessarily.

The past week i have been trying really hard to ‘be good’, so to keep myself on track and maybe even inspire some of you, i thought i would do another ‘what i eat in a day’ post.

Breakfast

breakfast

I always find that having a big breakfast helps me start the day off well, plus it is the best meal of that day. I used my heath extra B on 2 x slices of wholemeal bread. I topped this with some quorn ham slices (I’m vegetarian, but obviously you can have ham or bacon without the fat if you wish) Beans, and then some speedy tomatoes and mushrooms. I used a little of my healthy A for a sprinkle of cheese on top. It was really nice and super filling.

Lunch

lunch

This was more of a snacky lunch as i knew i would be having a bigger, more filling meal at dinner. I had some quorn ham slices, which are free, with the rest of my healthy A cheese. I also cut up some speedy strawberries and a pear too.

Snacks

Throughout the day i like to spread out my syns to have as little treats. Of course you can snack on fruits and vegetables etc as well but i try and get as many speed foods into my meals so i can use my snacks as syns.

chickpea

One syn free snack i have been enjoying recently is roasted chickpeas. You simply drain a can of chickpeas and lay them out on a baking tray. I then coated them in spices, dried garlic, smoked paprika and salt. Spray with fry light and pop them in the oven for 10-20 mins, keeping an eye on them so they don’t burn. They taste really nice, smokey and a little nutty and make a really delicious snack to nibble throughout the day, though they are really tasty just out of the oven.

Here’s what i used as my syns for this particular day.

Digestive biscuits- 3 syns each

Freddo – 5 syns each

Hi fi bars- 3 syns each, or 2 x for healthy Extra B

Dinner

dinner

For dinner i made ‘Huevos Rancheros’ which is basically, Mexican eggs. Its super tasty and really filling. Its a one pot dish and is really easy to make. Its simply tinned tomatoes, red onions, chillies, Garlic, Spinach, peppers,Plum tomatoes and mushrooms. All cooked together with small squares of potato. Once these simmer together, make two small wells and crack eggs into them. Pop under the grill so that the eggs can cook nicely and then sprinkle a little cheese if you wish, and hey presto, all done.This is a really nice, hearty meal and makes it so easy to get a load of speed foods into one meal too.

I’ve also been making a more conscious effort to drink water this week. I usually just drink fizzy as i don really like water but i know that it keeps you so much more hydrated and people at my class have always said that they have had even better results on weeks where they have drunk better.

Syn Count- 14 Syns (2 x digestives, freddo, 1 x Hi fi)

Speed food count- 10 (Tinned tomatos, mushrooms, chillies, garlic, spinach, red onion, peppers, plum tomatos, Strawberrys, Pear)

I hope you have enjoyed this little insight into the sort of meals i like to make, and here’s to hopefully another good week on the scales, but most of all, a much better and positive mindset.

Until next time

img_0461-2

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

