3 months on….

hey

Here we are, 24th November 2016, at 9.53am. (This is when it’s scheduled to go live anyway). Exactly 3 months since my beautiful baby boy Casey James Parker (Finally!!!) came into the world.


Three months?! Three? Seriously, where did that time go. It’s all very strange, I feel like that time has gone so quickly but at the same time, that day in hospital feels like almost a lifetime ago. Time is a weird thing.

So, three months into this crazy journey of having two children. What to say really, well… it’s…. interesting? Β It’s more crazy, stressful and harder than you can ever really imagine, like really you think god how will I cope with two? Well honestly, after three months, I don’t know haha, but we muddle through, and we’re doing okay, I think. We are all still here, still alive & kicking.

When you have your first child you can’t imagine anything so amazing, like how can you ever feel anymore love for anything else, how does your heart contain enough for anyone else? but then you meet another little you and suddenly it’s just there, and fills your whole heart and you wonder once again how you ever lived without them before. Watching not one, but two little people, you created, loving each other, and playing and just being, it really, as cliche as it sounds, is amazing.

The stress of making sure two are okay is a far bigger burden, and at times can feel simply soul destroying, but that’s parenthood I guess, right? Always doubting yourself when really, it’s okay to not always be okay, to not have a sparkly clean house, the washing done, to have a shower. Who cares, because in 30 years time, they certainly won’t.

I’ve learned many more things from having a second child that I thought I would share with you, from my experience at least anyway.

1. It’s not any easier, but it’s so much better. I’m not sure that makes sense, but you’ll get it, trust me.

2. Enjoy your last few days, weeks, whatever, with your only child. It wasn’t until after I had Casey and came across an article about this, that it even occurred to me, that he would no longer be my only child. Again, I’m not sure it makes sense, but you’ll get it. Enjoy going to the park with them, on your own, just you two, running around after them without a thought of anyone but you two, putting them to bed and giving them that second story they want, and the extra cuddle, because it’s not always that easy when another one comes around. I found this one of the hardest things to come to terms with when having two children. I suddenly felt bad for having to give my time not just to him but to someone else. Eventually though the balance comes and it’s not so bad, and they get used to it too. But I wish I had known I’d feel that way before so I could have appreciated those last few moments before I couldn’t get them back, but we had a great time just the two of us, but now it’s all 3 of our turns to make even better times ahead.

3. Terrible two’s is a real thing.Β I haven’t learnt this really from having a second child, Noah has been great with Casey and hasn’t been jealous or anything like I worried he would be, but I thought it was worth mentioning that yes, it’s no myth, the terrible twos does exist. Perhaps this will prove difficult having a baby and a terrible two toddler but I’m sure we will muddle through.

4. Watching them together will melt your heart. Literally I’m sure my heart actually melts into my soul and makes me head explode with how lovely it is to see Noah cuddle Casey, and give him a kiss, and even call him his brother. It’s magical. (I know, I know get me the sick bucket).

5. If you thought you were late before, then be prepared to feel even later. I was just about getting to grips with getting myself and one other person ready and out on time when along came another and threw all that out the window, but hey ho, being on times overrated anyway.

6. Life will never be the same again. Β But who cares because it’s so much better now anyway.

7. If you thought it went fast the first time, then think again. It’s gone so much quicker this time. Enjoy every single second, because the second one defiantly grows up faster.

It defiantly helps having a second pair of hands around when daddy’s not working so you can take one kid each, but for those days your on your own, or if you are doing it all on your own, (in which case, i take my hat off to you), if I can manage, you can to. And if the washing doesn’t get done, oh well, life goes on.

So, here’s to surviving the first 3 months of being a family of 4 πŸΎπŸ‘©πŸΌπŸ‘±πŸ»πŸ‘¦πŸΌπŸ‘ΆπŸΌ

Until next time

Leave a Reply

