#SmearforSmear 💋

hey

This is a bit of a different post to usual but an important one none the less.

This week is Cervical Cancer Prevention week (22-28 January) and Jos trust charity have launched the #SmearforSmear campaign. It’s basically to spread awareness of the importance of attending your cervical smear test. Get involved by putting your lippy on, smearing it and taking a selfie using the hashtag #SmearforSmear, tagging another friend to carry it on. It’s surprising the power of social media to get the word around.



Here are a few facts about cervical cancer to get you thinking 💭

Every day in the UK 9 women are diagnoised with Cervical Cancer.

Cervical Cancer is the most common cancer in women under the age of 35 years.

2 women lose their life from the disease every day.

Cervical  Screening prevents 75% of Cervical Cancers from developing yet 1 in 4 women don’t attend when invited and this drops to 1 in 3 in women aged 25-29.

A lot of the reasons people don’t attend are due to not having enough time to attend appointments or that they are scared//embarrassed of the procedure.

I attended my first every Cervical Smear test this week. You are invited from when you turn 25, I however was pregnant at the time so could not attend one until this year. As soon as I was 12 weeks post partum I booked my appointment. It took a mear 5 minutes from going in to having the procedure done and perhaps uncomfortable but in no way painful.

Now I am quite a shy person and I don’t love the idea of stripping down in front of a doctor or nurse but at the end of the day I thought to myself, whats more important? My health or feeling slightly awkward for a couple of minutes? And besides, their nurses, funnily enough they’ve seen it all before. So if your worried about going, or think you don’t have the time, please go, YOU deserve those 5 minutes, those 5 minutes could SAVE your life.

I know for me, having children, it’s just not a risk I can take. I want to see them grow up, so if 5 minutes of awkwardness can mean that I get to do that, then so be it.

So please take the time to go, take a #smearforsmear selfie, and spread the word. 💋

I tag all of you lovely followers to do a #smearforsmear selfie.

To find out more about Jo’s Trust, click here.

and if you want more information on the smear test procedure check that out here.

Until next time

img_0461-12

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lisa says:

    Hi Sarah,

    I saw you contacted me on TBP but I am not able to reply to you. Could you send me an email to: lisa (AT) selfhosted.co so we can get in touch! 🙂

    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

